skip navigation

Inspirational Closing Ceremonies Concludes WULL 2015 Spring Season

By WULL, 06/03/15, 1:45PM CDT


West University Little League’s spring season came to an end Thursday, May 21st with Closing Ceremonies at Wallin Field covered by a large tarp. Despite the rainfall earlier in the day, players, coaches, parents and fans crowded together around bleachers and the dugout to celebrate the triumphs of the season.

The WULL Seniors were honored for their storybook year, having won the 2014 Senior League World Series last summer in Bangor, Maine at the Little League World Series. The following Senior Champions were presented with keys to the City of West University from Mayor Bob Fry for achieving their ultimate goal: Mitchell Black, Jared Burch, Harrison Burks, Cameron Cash, Aaron Cranfield, Julian Cranfield, John Doxakis, Turner Gauntt, Joe Gobillot, Andrew Hoffman, Owen Holt, William James, Carson Maxwell, Jacob Millender, Michael Streitman and Jimmy Winston.

West U Little League continued the annual tradition of presenting each Senior player with a personalized bat as a keepsake of their participation in the League. In a moving tribute, the Senior Team united in a huddle, lifted a symbolic bat and dedicated it to Matthew Resnick, pointed it to the heavens to salute their former teammate and friend. Mathew tragically died in an accident in January of 2008 at age 9. This meaningful act of remembrance demonstrated the spirit of West U Little League’s mission as these kindhearted young men championed the virtues of character, courage and loyalty.

The Matthew Resnick Scholarship and MVP Award was presented to Staton McCrae Childers. Nominated by coaches from the A, AA, AAA and Major Divisions, Staton was selected for representing leadership, character and passion for the game, all characteristics Matthew displayed. Matthew’s parents, Scott and Mary and brother Mark presented this memorial award to Staton at Closing Ceremonies.

The Paul Wallin Scholarship was awarded to Zach Pearson. This scholarship is awarded annually to a graduating high school senior who has played at least one year of WULL baseball, is college bound and demonstrates characteristics of discipline, desire and dedication among other qualifications. This scholarship is given in memory of Paul Wallin, the namesake for Wallin Field. Zach Pearson played high school baseball for Lamar, is an Eagle Scout, member of the National Honor Society and served as a Challenger League Buddy for WULL.

Division trophies were awarded to the winners of each division within Pee Wee 7, Pee Wee 8, Minor A-White, Minor A-Green, Minor AA, Minor AAA, Majors and Juniors. The post-season tournament winners and runners-up in each division were recognized and given trophies for their successes. Sportsmanship medals were bestowed upon one team in each division for displaying outstanding attitude, graciousness in winning or losing, respect for one’s opponent and respect for the officials.